ChiTAG Announces 2017 Innovation Conference Tracks and Keynote Speakers

CHITAGGrouplogoThe Chicago Toy & Game Group announced keynote speakers and conference tracks for its Innovation Conference, kicking off the Chicago Toy and Game Week (ChiTAG). The conference brings together toy and game inventors with retailers, heads of acquisition, and other members of the industry to create, collaborate, and connect.  [Read more...]

Voting is Now Open for ChiTAG’s 2017 TAGIE Awards

TAGIE.AwardsThe Chicago Toy & Game Group named the nominees for the 10th Annual Toy & Games Innovation (TAGIE) Awards. Nominees for each category were selected by industry peers, and voting is now open for members of the media, industry, and public until Oct. 31. The 2017 TAGIE winners will be announced on Nov. 17 as part of the 15th Annual Chicago Toy & Game Week. [Read more...]

ChiTAG Announces Preliminary Lineup and Theme

ChiTAGThe 15th Annual Chicago Toy & Game Week (ChiTAG) will take place from Nov. 16 to 19, featuring the annual TAGIE awards and Young Inventors Challenge. The weeklong event brings together non-hobby toy and game brands, inventors, retailers, and distributors for attendees to play, celebrate, support, promote, and participate in the creation of toys and games. [Read more...]

Nominations Closing for 10th Annual TAGIEs

ChiTAGTagiesNominations for the 2017 Toy & Game Innovation Awards (TAGIEs) close this week on Wednesday, August 30. Winners will be honored at the annual gala event during the Chicago Toy & Game Week from Nov. 16 to 19. [Read more...]

ChiTAG Announces Keynote Speakers

CHITAGGrouplogoThe Chicago Toy & Game Group (ChiTAG) announced its first keynote speakers for its Inventor and Innovation Conferences. Speakers so far include Richard Barry, EVP, global chief merchandising officer at Toys “R” Us; Rich Mazel, senior director global product acquisition at Hasbro; and Gary Swisher, SVP of inventor relations and head of gaming at Mattel.

Chicago Toy & Game Group Announces 2016 Innovation Conference Speakers

ChicagoToyGameWeekThe Chicago Toy & Game Group’s Innovation Conference will feature keynote speakers Kathleen Campisano (VP GMM Toys, Games, Hobby & Collectibles at Barnes & Noble), Andy Roo Forrest (Partner, Forrest-Pruzan Creative), Jim McCafferty (Owner, JMP Creative), Tim Walsh (Chief Playmaker, The Playmakers), and Michelle Thaller (Assistant Director of Science, NASA Headquarters). [Read more...]

ChiTAG, Lekotek Partner for Super Power Sensory Hour

CHITAG2The Chicago Toy and Game Fair (ChiTAG) partnered with The National Lekotek Center, a nonprofit organization that promotes play for kids of all abilities. This year, ChiTAG will open its doors an hour early for these kids and their families, giving them free admission and an exclusive experience before the fair opens up to the general public. [Read more...]

2015 ChiTAG Breaks Records

CHITAG2The 13th Annual Chicago Toy and Game Fair in November had an increased attendance by 20 percent, with its largest crowd ever of 30,000 people, and there were more than 550 million impressions on social media. [Read more...]

Chicago Toy & Game Group Announces Young Inventor Challenge Winners

young-inventor-challengeThe Chicago Toy & Game Group has named winners for the ninth annual Young Inventor Challenge.

The winners include senior category first-place winner Steven Huetteman, age 11 and senior category second-place winners Nathaniel Grgurina and Kodo Elder, both 17 years old. The junior category first-place winner is Kedar Narayann, while Athena Gottleib, age 6, took home the second place prize. The People’s Choice awards went to Malik Haleem, age 9, and Miguel Segovia, age 10. [Read more...]

The Chicago Toy & Game Group Announces 2015 TAGIE Award Recipients

ChiTAGThe honorees for the eighth annual Toy and Game Inventor of the Year (TAGIE) Awards are in and will be presented at the TAGIE awards gala on November 20 at the Grand Ballroom at Navy Pier. This year, the awards ceremony has a storytelling theme, and excellence will be recognized in The Hassenfeld Family Humanitarian Award, In Memoriam, and Lifetime Achievement Award categories.

The Hassenfeld Family Humanitarian Award will go to Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metropolitan Chicago for their contribution to empower at risk youth. The In Memoriam Award will honor Richard Knerr and Arthur Melin, the co-founders of Wham-O, who also created the Hula Hoop and the Frisbee. The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Richard Maddocks for his toy inventions. [Read more...]